• 15. 03. 2023

    Our in-house characterization of unique pyrochlore heterostructures using X-ray scattering methods contributed to recent work by Jian Liu's research group at the University of Tennessee. They designed and synthesized a pyrochlore heterostructure where the breaking of the spin ice rule and the condensation of magnetic monopole in insulating Dy2Ti2O7 can be detected by anomalous magnetoresistance in the Bi2Ir2O7 conducting layer.

  • 16. 02. 2023

    Our group used a unique capability of the X-ray magnetic circular dichroism technique to determine the magnetic orbital moment component of Vanadium ions in the layered van der Waals system. We have revealed an exceptionally sizable orbital moment of Vanadium ion resolving the long debate on this issue.

About our department

We are a physics department dedicated to the study of condensed matter, i.e. the physics of solids and liquids. We are a research department with a strong focus on theoretical and experimental condensed matter physics. Our department also houses the scientific infrastructure of MGML, which is a state-of-the-art facility for research in condensed matter physics.

What do we do?

We work on the latest problems in condensed matter physics. We have 4 groups: Group of Magnetic Properties studies the physical properties of a wide range of materials, from high-temperature superconductors to rare earth metal alloys and actinides. Group of Structure Analysis focuses on the study structure and microstructure of advanced materials using X-ray diffraction. Group of Theoretical Physics models a wide range of physical phenomena in condensed matter, in particular using quantum mechanics and artificial intelligence. Physics of Nanostructures Group concentrates on comprehensive research of nanostructures with a focus on their use in optoelectronic, biomedical and environmental technologies.

Where are we?